RC and the Gritz


RC & The Gritz aren’t your typical hip-hop band; they’re an eclectic super-group that defies musical boundaries. Often recognized as Erykah Badu’s trusted musical collective, this dynamic ensemble was founded by the visionary Band Leader, RC Williams, in 2004.

Hailing from the vibrant musical landscape of Texas, RC & The Gritz bring together a diverse mix of exceptionally talented musicians. Their collective artistry transcends genres, seamlessly blending R&B, Hip-Hop, and Soul Music into a sonic tapestry that captivates audiences worldwide.

Prepare to be enchanted and entertained by RC & The Gritz, where musical boundaries are shattered, and creativity knows no limits.

We are “RC & The Gritz”
led by Grammy Award Winner RC Williams 

“Band members”
Cleon Edwards- (Erykah Badu, Jill Scott, Snoop Dogg,) – Drums
Braylon Lacy- (Erykah Badu, Kirk Whalum) – Bass
Jah Born- (Erykah Badu) – Programmer/MPC 
Jonathan Mones-(Ghost Notes, Funky Knuckles) – alto sax, flute
Claudia Melton- Vocals
Evan Knight – Sax 
Mike Jelani Brooks (Kirk Franklin, RC & The Gritz) – tenor saxophone, flute

“Rotating Cast”
Miracle Foster- (Vocals)
Durand Bernarr – (Erykah Badu, Teedra Moses) – Vocals 
Matt Ramsey- (Kirk Franklin) – Bass
Mark Lettieri- (Erykah Badu, Snarky Puppy) – Guitar 
Bianca Rodriguez – Vocals
A.J. Brown (Snoop Dogg, Fred Hammond) – bass
Nicholas Rothouse- (Fridays Foolery) – Percussion
Kazunori Tanaka – Trumpet
Mike Clowes – Guitar
Marcus Jones – (Erykah Badu, The Found Band) – Drums 
Frank Moka- (Erykah Badu, DrumHedz) – percussion